Category: Japan

Mount Haku

Mount Haku (白山, Haku-san, Hakusan) Mount Haku, which means “White Mountain,” is a stratovolcano located within Hakusan National Park on the borders of Gifu, Fukui, and Ishikawa prefectures in Honshu, Japan. The mountain has three peaks, the tallest being Gozengamine, along with Kengamine and Ōnanjimine. The Historical Japanese village of Shirakawago sits at the foot …

Continue reading

Mount Tate

Mount Tate (Mount Tateyama, 立山, Tate-yama) Mount Fuji, Mount Tate, and Mount Haku are considered to be Japan’s “Three Holy Mountains.” Mount Tate is also known as “Tateyama.” Mount Tate sits in the Hida Mountains, which is a mountain range that stretches through Japan’s Nagano, Toyama, Gifu, and Niigata prefectures. Around 1972, a Japanese stamp …

Continue reading

Mount Fuji

Mount Fuji (富士山, Fujisan) Mount Fuji stands as a natural icon on Honshu Island and is well known for its almost perfectly symmetrical conical shape. Because of its unique beauty, the mountain has been the focus of much artwork over the years. The most famous art pieces inspired by Mt. Fuji are likely Katsushika Hokusai’s …

Continue reading