Annapurna III

View of Machapuchare (Fish Tail), Annapurna III, Annapurna IV, Annapurna II mountains as seen at sunrise from Sarangkot village above Pokhara city, Annapurna range, Nepal Himalayas, Nepal

Annapurna III

Annapurna III is part of the Annapurna Massif which includes one peak over 26,000 feet, 13 over 23,000 feet, and 16 more over 20,000 feet.

The Annapurna Massif contains the following prominent peaks, in descending order by height: Annapurna I (Main) (26,545 ft), Annapurna II (26,040 ft), Annapurna III (24,786 ft), Annapurna IV (24,688 ft), Gangapurna (24,457 ft), and Annapurna South (23,684 ft).  There are also several less prominent peaks in the Annapurna Himal.

“Annapurna” is a female Sanskrit name literally meaning “(She who is) Replete with food,” but is commonly translated as “Goddess of the Harvests.” Annapoorṇā devi was a universal Hindu goddess because of her association with nourishment and the universal need for food. Her connection with the food, which leads to wealth for all, led her to be transformed into the Hindu Goddess of Wealth, Lakshmi.

The Annapurna Massif is located in the Gandaki Zone of Nepal. The Annapurna peaks are directly north of Machhapuchhare.

Country: Nepal

Mountain Range: Annapurna Himalaya

Elevation: 24,787 feet / 7,555 meters

First Ascent: 1961

Fun Fact: Annapurna III is the 42nd highest peak in the world.

Annapurna Range – Machapuchre and Annapurna III

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: