Tilicho Lake and mount Gangapurna. Nepal, Himalayas

Gangapurna is part of the Annapurna Massif which includes one peak over 26,000 feet, 13 over 23,000 feet, and 16 more over 20,000 feet.

The Annapurna Massif contains the following prominent peaks, in descending order by height: Annapurna I (Main) (26,545 ft), Annapurna II (26,040 ft), Annapurna III (24,786 ft), Annapurna IV (24,688 ft), Gangapurna (24,457 ft), and Annapurna South (23,684 ft).  There are also several less prominent peaks in the Annapurna Himal.

“Annapurna” is a female Sanskrit name literally meaning “(She who is) Replete with food,” but is commonly translated as “Goddess of the Harvests.” Annapoorṇā devi was a universal Hindu goddess because of her association with nourishment and the universal need for food. Her connection with the food, which leads to wealth for all, led her to be transformed into the Hindu Goddess of Wealth, Lakshmi.

Gangapurna mountain and glacier as seen from Manang village, Around Annapurna trek, Nepal Himalayas

Gangapurna’s closest neighboring mountains are Annapurna III to the southeast and Singu Chuli to the southwest. Also close to the mountain are the start of the Great Himalayan Trail to the southeast and the Annapurna Circuit Trek to the west.

Country: Nepal

Mountain Range: Annapurna Himalaya

Elevation: 24,459 feet / 7,455 meters

First Ascent: 1965 led by Günther Hauser of a German expedition; they climbed along the East Ridge.

Fun Fact: Gangapurna is the 59th highest mountain in the world.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: