Tag: Four Sacred Mountains of Buddhism

Mount Wutai

Mount Wutai | Wutaishan | Mount Qingliang | 五台山 Mount Wutai, also recognized as the Five-Platform Mountain, is among the most significant sacred Buddhist sites in China. Located in the northeastern region of Shanxi province, this mountain range is renowned for its unique natural beauty and religious significance. The mountain’s name, ‘Wutai,’ which translates to ‘Five Terraces,’ …

Continue reading

Mount Putuo

Mount Putuo | Pǔtuó Shān | Mount Potalaka | 普陀山 Mount Putuo, a name synonymous with spiritual serenity, is a celebrated Buddhist site in China. Nestled in the Zhejiang province, this mountain is not just a physical entity but a symbol of religious reverence. This article aims to delve into the mysteries of Mount Putuo, shedding light …

Continue reading

Mount Jiuhua

Mount Jiuhua | Jǐuhuá Shān | 九华山 Mount Jiuhua is a breathtakingly beautiful mountain located in Anhui province of China. It is one of the four sacred mountains of Buddhism and is considered to be an important pilgrimage site for Buddhists around the world. The mountain is known for its stunning scenery, peaceful atmosphere, and spiritual significance. …

Continue reading